History of the bbk berlin

Celebration - In 2020 we will be 70!

In 1950 René Sintenis, Richard Scheibe, Karl Schmidt-Rottluff and Hannah Höch, among others, called for the foundation of a professional association for artists in Berlin. In the same year, the memorandum "Kunst in Not" (Art in Need) was written, taking drastic and competent stock of visual artists' social situation in Berlin. This formed the basis for the association's work.

First and foremost, the professional association views itself as an association for the protection and enforcement of visual artists' economic but also social interests in a democratic social order. From the very beginning, it has successfully advocated improved social security for artists and the simultaneous expansion of their exhibiting opportunities.

One decisive event in the association's history was the Frankfurt Artists' Congress in 1971, which led to the introduction of social insurance for artists.

The association responded to demands for better production conditions for Berlin artists in 1973 by expanding the printing workshop, which had existed since 1955, and in 1985 by establishing a sculpture workshop. In cooperation with the State of Berlin, the media workshop was established in 2008. Together with the Office for Art in Public Space and the Studio Office, as institutions belonging to the kulturwerk of the bbk berlin they form an infrastructure for professional artists that is unique in Europe.

In 2017, the association reformed its statutes and has since been known as the berufsverband bildender künstler*innen berlin.

Since January 1st, 2004 the bbk berlin e.V. has represented the interests of visual artists at a national level, even after its withdrawal from the Bundesverband Bildender Künstlerinnen und Künstler e.V. 

On the withdrawal of the bbk berlin from the Bundesverband Bildender Künstlerinnen und Künstler


seit Mai 2018: current board members -->
Zoë Miller (Sprecherin), Heidi Sill (Sprecherin), Frauke Boggasch, Patrick Huber, Sabine Reinfeld, Sophie-Therese Trenka-Dalton, Raul Walch

Heidi Sill (Sprecherin), Cornelia Renz (Sprecherin), Herbert Mondry, Patrick Huber, Thomas Schliesser, Zoë Miller, Sophie-Therese Trenka-Dalton

Herbert Mondry (1. Vorsitzender), Pia Lanziger (2. Vorsitzende), Konrad Zander, Lou Favorite, Marìa Linares, Cornelia Renz, Diego Castro (bis 2015), Heidi Sill (ab 2015)

Herbert Mondry (1. Vorsitzender), Karina Pospiech (2. Vorsitzende), Roland Fuhrmann (bis 2013), Pia Lanziger (ab 2013), Keike Twisselmann, Konrad Zander, Lou Favorite, Diego Castro

Herbert Mondry (1. Vorsitzender), Signe Theill (2. Vorsitzende bis 2011), Karina Pospiech (2. Vorsitzende ab 2011), Heidi Sill (bis 2011), Lou Favorite (ab 2011), Keike Twisselmann, Konrad Zander

Herbert Mondry (1. Vorsitzender), Signe Theill, Heidi Sill (2. Vorsitzende), Heiner Büld, Keike Twisselmann, Konrad Zander, Martin Pfahler, Dr. Frieder Schnock (2010)

Herbert Mondry (1. Vorsitzender), Ute Weiss Leder (2. Vorsitzende bis 2007), Signe Theill (2. Vorsitzende ab 2007), Heidi Sill, Patrick Huber, Zariamma Harat (bis 2007), Helga Franz (ab 2007), Keike Twisselman, Martin Pfahler

Herbert Mondry (1. Vorsitzender), Ute Weiss Leder (2. Vorsitzende), Ricarda Pohl (bis 2005), Heidi Sill (ab 2005), Jo Achermann, Keike Twisselmann, Zariamma Harat, Martin Pfahler

Herbert Mondry (1. Vorsitzender), Natascha Kaßner (2. Vorsitzende bis 2003), Stella Vlachopoulos (bis 2003), Sven Jakubith (bis 2003), Markus Bartschat (bis 2003), Alke Brinkmann (bis 2003), Ute Weiss Leder (2. Vorsitzende ab 2003), Jo Achermann (ab 2003), Ricarda Pohl (ab 2003), Jörg Bürkle (ab 2003), Zariamma Harat (ab 2003), Oliver Belling (ab 2003)

Herbert Mondry (1. Vorsitzender), Sven Jakubith (2. Vorsitzende bis 2001), Andreas Sunder-Plassmann (2. stellv. Vorsitzende ab 2001), Manfred Miersch (2. stellv. Vorsitzender ab 2001), Roman Banerjee, Barbara Schulze, Markus Bartschat, Volker Rehm, Markku Peltonen

Herbert Mondry (1. Vorsitzender), Wolfgang Matzat (2. Vorsitzende bis 1999), Sven Jakubith (2. Vorsitzende ab 1999), Alke Brinkmann, Roman Banerjee, Hilla Stute, Hermann Spörel, Markus Bartschat

Herbert Mondry (1. Vorsitzender), Ulrich Grüter (2. Vorsitzende bis Nov.1998), Wolfgang Matzat (2. Vorsitzende ab Nov.1998), Alke Brinkmann, Hermann Spörel, Roman Banerjee, Markus Bartschat, Sirius Krenzien (bis Jun.1997), Sandra Becker (ab Jun.1997)

Herbert Mondry (1. Vorsitzender), Karla Gänßler (2. Vorsitzende), Rainer Bonar (Rücktritt 1995), Alke Brinkmann, Roman Banerjee, Astrid Mosch, Jürgen Hoffmann (bis 1993), Detlef Ziep (bis 1995), Sirius Krenzien (ab 1995), Hermann Spörel

Herbert Mondry (1. Vorsitzender), Susanne Husemann (2. Vorsitzende, bis 1992), Oda Schöller (2. Vorsitzende bis 1993), Rainer Bonar, Karl Wesker, Jürgen Hoffmann, Rainer Fest, Stefanie Näpel, Robert Rehfeldt (ab 1992),

Prof. Wolfgang Ludwig (1. Vorsitzender), Dieter Ruckhaberle (2. Vorsitzende bis 1989), Susanne Husemann (kommissarische 2. Vorsitzende), Markus Müller, Brigitte Heimann-Paquet, Hans Joachim Schreiber, Inge Husemann

Prof. Wolfgang Ludwig (1. Vorsitzender), Gisela Burkhart (2. Vorsitzende bis 1988), Inge Husemann (kommissarische 2. Vorsitzende), Stefanie Vogel, Dieter Ruckhaberle, Carlos José Martins, Klaus Hartmann, Brigitte Heimann-Paquet

Prof. Wolfgang Ludwig (1. Vorsitzender), Katja Jedermann (2. Vorsitzender), Gisela Burkhart, Evelyn Kuwertz (1984), Hartmut Krüger (1985), Klaus Schröter, Birgit von Toerne (bis 1985), Rüdiger Preisler (ab 1985), Yeter Hanefi (1984), Ernst-Gottfried Hopffgarten, Stefanie Vogel

Wolfgang Ludwig (1. Vorsitzender), Katja Jedermann (2. Vorsitzender), Bernhard Mensch, Gerd Wulff, Klaus Büscher, lngolf Kirsch, Stephan Preuschoff

Wolfgang Ludwig (1. Vorsitzender), Dieter Ruckhaberle (2. Vorsitzender), Bernhard Mensch, Katja Jedermann, Klaus Büscher, Dieter Masuhr, Vera Krickhahn (2. Vorsitzender), Tom Fecht

Hans Metz (1. Vorsitzender), Klaus Buschenhagen, Klaus Büscher, Arwed Gorella, Wolfgang Ludwig, Bernhard Mensch

Reent Schwarz (1. Vorsitzender), Hans Metz, Klaus Büscher, Gernot Bubenik, Arwed Gorella, Herbert Mondry (Rücktritt 1973), Dieter Ruckhaberle, Jürgen Zeidler

Paul Corazolla (1. Vorsitzender, Rücktritt 1971), Gernot Bubenik, Eugen Clermont (Rücktritt 1971), Arwed Gorella, Herbert Mondry, Dieter Ruckhaberle, Jürgen Zeidler

Karl Oppermann (1. Vorsitzender), Gernot Bubenik, Franz R. Knubel, Sigmund Lympasik, Herbert Mondry, Lou Scheper-Berkenkamp, Gory von Stryk

Ludwig Peter Kowalski (1. Vorsitzender, verstorben 1967), Lou Scheper-Berkenkamp (2. Vorsitzende, kommissarische Vorsitzende 1967/68), Alexander Kampmann, Kat Kampmann, lmmanuel Meyer-Pyritz, Erich F. Reuter, Gory von Stryk

Ludwig Peter Kowalski (1. Vorsitzender), Alexander Kampmann, lmmanuel Meyer-Pyritz, Heinrich Richter, Lou Scheper-Berkenkamp, Gory von Stryk, Hans Szym (bis 1960) 

1950 - 1958
Wolf Hoffmann (1.Vorsitzender), Ludwig Peter Kowalski, lmmanuel Meyer-Pyfltz, Heinrich Richter, Loulse Stomps (Rücktritt 1952) Nachfolgerin Lou Scheper-Berkenkamp, Gory von Stryk, Hans Szym